NSF Check Collection Fees Listed by State

This list is current as of September 2007. Each link will take you directly to the respective State's Statute regarding collection fees allowed for dishonored checks. Note that although the chart may not explicitly state so, most states consider the check fee a service fee that can be charged in addition to a recovered bank fee.

NOTICE OF DISCLAIMER: Since any information provided on this page is subject to change and interpretation of state statutes may vary, this information is not intended as legal advice and we cannot be held responsible for how you choose to use it.

Alabama (8-8-15)

$30.00

Alaska (09.68.115)

$30.00

Arizona (44-6852)

$25.00

Arkansas (5-37-304)

$25.00

California (1719)

$25.00 for 1st check,
$35.00 each subsequent check to that same payee.

Colorado (13-21-109)

$20.00

Connecticut (52-565.i)

$20.00

Delaware (1301a)

$40.00

Florida (832-08.5)

      $.01 - $ 50.00 = $25.00
  $50.01 - $300.00 = $30.00
$300.01 - $800.00 = $40.00

Georgia (13-6-15)

$30.00 or 5% of face value,
whichever is greater (plus bank fees)

Hawaii (490:3-506.5)

$30.00

Idaho (28-22-105)

$20.00

Illinois (810 ILCS 5/3-806)

$25.00

Indiana (26-1-3.1-502.5)

$20.00

Iowa (554-3512)

$30.00

Kansas (60-2610-g)

$30.00

Kentucky (514.040(4)(b))

$25.00

Louisiana (9:2782)

$25.00 or 5% of face value, whichever is greater

Maine (14 MRSA 6071, 6073)

Undetermined

Maryland (15-802)

$35.00

Massachusetts (I.XV.93-40a)

Undetermined

Michigan (600.2952)

$25.00 if paid within 7 days of mailed notice,
otherwise $35.00

Minnesota (604.113)

$30.00

Mississippi (97-19-57)

$40.00

Missouri (570.120)

$25.00
plus the amount charged by the financial institution.

Montana (27-1-717)

$30.00

Nebraska (28-611)

$10.00
plus the amount charged by the financial institution.

Nevada (597.960)

$25.00

New Hampshire (358-C:5)

Not more than $25.00,
unless expressly authorized by written agreement.

New Jersey (2A:32A-1)

Undetermined

New Mexico (56-14-1)

Undetermined

New York (GOB-5-328)

$20.00

North Carolina (25-3-506)

$25.00

North Dakota (6-08-16(2))

$30.00

Ohio (1319.16)

$30.00 or 10% of face value,
whichever is greater (plus bank fees)

Oklahoma (22-114(b))

$25.00

Oregon (30.701(5))

$25.00

Pennsylvania (18.4105)

$20.00

Rhode Island (6-42-3)

$25.00

South Carolina (34-11-70)

$30.00

South Dakota (57A-3-421)

$30.00

Tennessee (47-29-102)

$30.00

Texas (3-506)

$30.00

Utah (7-15-1)

$20.00

Vermont (9.57.2311)

Undetermined

Virginia (8.01-27.1)

$35.00

Washington (62a.3-515)

Undetermined

West Virginia (61-3-39e)

$25.00

Wisconsin (403.414.7)

Undetermined

Wyoming (1-1-115(a))

$30.00

 

 

Check Software
Payroll Check Guarantee
I Want More Info
Conact Us
Check Reader
CCPS
Home